‘Tis the Season

 

Victorian Christmas

For the next several days we are going to talk about the holiday season. How do we keep writing despite all the hustle and bustle? How can we budget time when there isn’t enough? How do we keep from getting too hyper with all the sweets, or how to keep the pounds off? What does Christmas mean to each of us? How do we celebrate? What is important in our lives. Do we demonstrate that importance when we reflect back on the outgoing year? What did we do wrong? Was it something we could control?
How can we tweak our lives to make them better? Because no matter how well something was done, no matter how successful we were, I always believe that it is good to keep trying to improve; to always have goals and be humble in knowing that there is room for improvement. It is healthy to reflect on different approaches and to be open minded because that is the only way we are going to grow in character. Even though we are extremely busy with all the Christmas parties, the shopping, the decorating, the elaborate breads and cookies, participating in food drives, visiting loved ones . . . this is an important time because it represents the end of the year. We need to shake off the old year, let bygones be bygones, learn from our experiences and face a bright new future. Start planning for the new year, praying for guidance in understanding what we can change, what we can’t and knowing the difference.
4 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. I have yet to figure out how to keep my writing productivity up during the holidays. For example, I wrote on Wednesday before Thanksgiving, but nothing after that until that next Monday. (Actually, I think that was this past Monday.) So it’s definitely something I need to work on.

  2. I am in the same leaky rowboat, Jen! I’m hoping that our creative members will offer a solution. Mainly it is my fault. My mind flits from one thing to another. But maybe this is the season to take a break. Then we will be fresh and will gallop out of the shoot come January 2, 2008!

  3. That would work if I didn’t have a character who has me in a choke-hold at the moment. That makes even getting day job stuff done a chore. *s*

Comments are closed.